Last Updated: Jul 27, 2016
- Endnote ($)
- Mendeley Help
- Scrivener ($)
Zotero is a research and citation management software environment built by the Center for History and New Media and George Mason University with funds from the Mellon Foundation & IMLS. Use Zotero to build bibliographies, automatically format citations into many citation formats, and much more.
- Zotero Help
How to install & use.
- Advanced catalog search
The advanced catalog search allows searches by author, title, keyword, subject, ISBN or ISSN, as well as other fields. Subject terms useful for the history of technology are "technology - history" and "engineering - history."
The following sources are best for brainstorming, finding search terms, and focusing a search.
- Encyclopedia Britannica
Coverage of a topic will be useful for obtaining a broad view of a topic. Concepts and terms can then be used to perform a complete search in a scholarly database.
- Wikipedia History of Technology
Wikipedia can be a useful starting point for research. If you are having issues finding the correct terms or a general overview of your topic, you may find useful information here. Wikipedia should be used as a launching point to research into scholarly and primary resources.
- Business Source Complete
In addition to having great business resources, Business Source Complete has surprise finds such as Scientific American, as well.
- Business Source Complete Help
The help guide contains links to search tips, how to use the database, authority files, and several other areas.
- Encyclopedia of 20th Century Technology
Electronic encyclopedia resource that contains article relating to the history of technology with links to further resources and readings.
JSTOR is a full text database that covers the full range of AHS topics as well as science topics. Content goes back to volume 1, issue 1 of resources included. The database does not have the most current 5 year of content.
- JSTOR Help
In addition to the online text content, users can follow links to video tutorials.
- Lexis Nexis
Lexis Nexis is a great database for news, business and legal information. The New York Times is accessible here.
- Lexis Nexis help
Help page provides guidance to researchers on search decisions and strategy.
- The Bridgeman History of Science
The Bridgeman Art Library partnered with Credo reference to create this specialist selection of images relating to the history of medicine and science. Scientific scenes and subjects cover personalities, equipment, inventions, processes and portraits of important pioneers. The range also encompasses astronomy, charts, diagrams, geology and the medicine and science of world cultures and ancient civilisations.
- WorldCat Local
WorldCat is a catalog of library catalogs. A large portion of the world's library catalogs are included in the collection. Within a search, libraries that own specific items are identified, with the closest libraries appearing first.