Last Updated: Jul 27, 2016
- The Bridgeman Art Library Archive
The Bridgeman Art Library works with museums, art galleries and artists to make the best art available for reproduction. The result is an archive of images drawn from collections throughout the world. Every subject, concept, style and medium is represented, from the masterpieces of national museums to the hidden treasures of private collections. Other images include design, antiques, maps, architecture, furniture, glass, ceramics, anthropological artefacts and others.
- The Bridgeman History of Science
The Bridgeman Art Library partnered with Credo reference to create this specialist selection of images relating to the history of medicine and science. Scientific scenes and subjects cover personalities, equipment, inventions, processes and portraits of important pioneers. The range also encompasses astronomy, charts, diagrams, geology and the medicine and science of world cultures and ancient civilisations.
- Critical Terms for Art History
The goal of this book is to stimulate discussion of theoretical issues in art history and to make that discussion accessible to both beginning students and senior scholars. The text includes a series of essays. Images are in black and white.
- Encyclopedia of American Folk Art
This is the first comprehensive, scholarly study of American folk art. Illustrated with both black and white and full-color photos, this A-Z encyclopedia covers every aspect of American folk art, including painting, sculpture, basketry, ceramics, quilts, furniture, toys, beadwork, and more.
- Oxford Art Online
This classic art reference source includes thousands of images, essays and biographies. Olin's subscription includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
JSTOR currently includes 79 art and art history journal titles. Use the advanced search screen to specify art titles. Articles in JSTOR are scholarly, and high quality images are included where they appeared in the original publication.
- JSTOR tutorials
This page links to several short video tutorials on various aspects of using JSTOR, including basic and advanced search methods.
- Creative Commons Images Blog
Images licensed under Creative Commons have varying levels of rights attached to them. Many are free to use in a non-business setting. Follow the blog news to keep up to date with CC image news. For example, the Yahoo image search function now has a filter for Creative Commons images.
- Creative Commons on Flickr
A library of many thousands of images available under the Creative Commons license. Use these images, and remember to attribute works to their creator.
- Olin's library catalog on WorldCatLocal
The advantage to Olin's library catalog on WorldCatLocal is that url's to books are more stable and easier to save in a bibliography. Moving beyond Olin's collections and into worldwide catalogs is just a click away.