This is the "E-resources and Search Terms" page of the "ENGR3699 - Special Topics in Bioengineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Olin Library  |  FAQs  |  Contact Us  |  My Account

ENGR3699 - Special Topics in Bioengineering  

Last Updated: Jul 27, 2016 URL: http://libguides.olin.edu/content.php?pid=20880 Print Guide RSS Updates

E-resources and Search Terms Print Page
  Search: 
 

Medical Search Terms

  • MeSH Database
    The MeSH Database is a directory of the controlled vocabulary used in PubMed. With a term there are links to subheadings and alternative terms. Terms are linked and can be brought directly into a search.

Engineering Search Terms

  • Engineering Village Thesaurus
    Term definitions include links to narrower, broader, and related terms. Changes in terms through time are documented.
 

IEEE / MeSH

IEEE has integrated MeSH terms into Xplore, which makes finding IEEE biomedical information easier for searchers.

Bioengineering resources and their training links

  • Annual Reviews
    Annual Reviews is a database of gathered papers within a field. Biomedical sciences, physical sciences and other science, technology and social sciences topics are covered. Current articles contain links from bibliographies out to other papers.
  • Annual Reviews Search Guide
    The name says it all. This online guide steps the researcher through the search process on Annual Reviews.
  • ASTM Digital Library
    ASTM, originally known as the American Society for Testing & Materials, is a well known standards organization. The Digital Library contains the complete collection of ASTM standards as well as their journals, Special Technical Publications, and manuals.
  • ASTM's Guide to Standards
    This PDF guide is a nice introduction to standards in general as well as to the ASTM standards process.
  • Engineering Village
    Engineering Village is a research platform that includes the following databases: Compendex (general engineering database), Inspec (ECE database), and Patents (made up of both US and European patents). Facets in the search results help to refine a search.
  • Engineering Village Help pages
    Training handouts and guides are available to the Engineering Village platform as well as to the individual databases included on the platform.
  • IEEE Xplore
    IEEE crosses engineering discplines, going beyond electrical engineering to computer engineering, mechanical engineering, and related fields. In addition to full text journals, the database includes standards and conference proceedings.
  • IEEE Xplore help
    Provides links to training modules and help with personalization features.
  • PubMed
    Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, PubMed pulls to together the literature of medicine and its allied topics together in one public database. The content is partially full text, with live links to the content that Olin owns.
  • PubMed training and help
    There is much to explore in the PubMed training area. In addition to video instruction and tip sheets, there is information on the MeSH subject headings, personalization features and a link to other National Network of Libraries of Medicine resources.
  • Science Direct Databse
    Science Direct contains full text journals in the fields of science, technology, and medicine.
  • Science Direct User Guides and Tutorials
    Both interactive tutorials and print guides are available on this site. Learn to search, personalize, and interact with the Science Direct database.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Emily Ferrier
 
Suggestions? Questions? Please feel free to e-mail the guide author.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip