- Olin Library's Material's Science Guide
This general subject guide to materials science provides more extensive links to library databases, journals, books, and Internet resources. There are also sections for societies, government resources, and standards.
Zotero is a research and citation management software environment built by the Center for History and New Media and George Mason University with funds from the Mellon Foundation & IMLS. Use Zotero to build bibliographies, automatically format citations into many citation formats, and much more.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online
This site provides examples of how to cite your research from various formats (books, journal articles, web sites).
- Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews is a database of gathered papers within a field. Biomedical sciences, physical sciences and other science, technology and social sciences topics are covered. Current articles contain links from bibliographies out to other papers.
- Annual Reviews Search Guide
The name says it all. This online guide steps the researcher through the search process on Annual Reviews.
- ASTM Digital Library
ASTM, originally known as the American Society for Testing & Materials, is a well known standards organization. The Digital Library contains the complete collection of ASTM standards as well as their journals, Special Technical Publications, and manuals.
- ASTM's Guide to Standards
This PDF guide is a nice introduction to standards in general as well as to the ASTM standards process.
Knovel is a series of scientific and engineering handbooks that provide reference and tabular information, as well as the ability to interact with much of their data, creating customized spreadsheets and charts.
- Knovel Support Site
Knovel has an in-depth help guide (100+ pages) as well as instructional videos and a quick start guide. Each of these resources is linked off of the support site.
- Science Direct Databse
Science Direct contains full text journals in the fields of science, technology, and medicine.
- Science Direct User Guides and Tutorials
Both interactive tutorials and print guides are available on this site. Learn to search, personalize, and interact with the Science Direct database.