This is the "Overview" page of the "Materials Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Olin Library  |  FAQs  |  Contact Us  |  My Account

Materials Science   Tags: biology, biomaterials, chemistry, engineering, materials, msds, physics, properties  

Resources to get started in materials science
Last Updated: Jul 27, 2016 URL: http://libguides.olin.edu/materials Print Guide RSS Updates

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome. Materials science crosses the disciplines of physics, chemistry, and biology. Applications and research consider natural materials such as bone or silver as well as manufactured materials such as steel. If you have any questions or need further help do not hesitate to contact me. My contact information is displayed on the right side of the screen. Enjoy!

 

Getting non-Olin stuff

Your library ID and Pin are sometimes required in requesting non-Olin library resources. Your ID is the 16 digit number marked "LIB" on your Olin ID. Your Pin is the last 4 digits of this number.  

Documenting Research

  • Endnote ($)
  • Evernote
  • Mendeley
  • Mendeley Help
  • Scrivener ($)
  • Zotero
    Zotero is a research and citation management software environment built by the Center for History and New Media and George Mason University with funds from the Mellon Foundation & IMLS. Use Zotero to build bibliographies, automatically format citations into many citation formats, and much more.
  • Zotero Help
    How to install & use.

Getting Started & Other References

  • ASM Handbooks Online  
      
    ASM International, the Materials Information Society, provides searchable access to Handbooks Online, currently 24 volumes plus 2 desk references.
  • ASTM Digital Library
    ASTM, originally known as the American Society for Testing & Materials, is a well known standards organization. The Digital Library contains the complete collection of ASTM standards as well as their journals, Special Technical Publications, and manuals.
  • Knovel (Scientific & Engineering Handbooks)  
      
    Created for engineers by engineers to remove barriers to finding useful data, Knovel is an interactive online reference library.
  • Massalski’s Binary Phase Diagrams
    4,700 binary alloy phase diagrams with data, primary references, additional related citations. This is a physical book on the library collection; call number TN690 .B528 1990, volumes 1 - 3.
 

Popular and Classic titles in Materials Science

Cover Art
Stuff Matters - Mark Miodownik
Call Number: TA403.2 .M56 2014
ISBN: 0544236041
Publication Date: 2014-05-27
In Olin collection

Cover Art
The New Science of Strong Materials or Why You Don't Fall Through the Floor - J. E. Gordon
Call Number: TA403.2 .G66 1984
ISBN: 0691023808
Publication Date: 1984-05-21
In Olin collection

Cover Art
Materials for Engineering - John Martin
Call Number: TA403 .M35 2002
ISBN: 1902653505
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
In Olin collection

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Emily Ferrier
 
Suggestions? Questions? Please feel free to e-mail the guide author.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip