Last Updated: Jul 27, 2016
Zotero is a research and citation management software environment built by the Center for History and New Media and George Mason University with funds from the Mellon Foundation & IMLS. Use Zotero to build bibliographies, automatically format citations into many citation formats, and much more.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online
This site provides examples of how to cite your research from various formats (books, journal articles, web sites).
- Science Direct
Science Direct College Edition is a broad collection of research material that cuts across the hard and soft sciences. Use the "Browse by Subject" option in the left column to select a specific subject area, then perform a targeted search. In press, corrected proofs of research are available in this database.
- Science Direct Help
A link-based help system.
- Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews is a database of gathered papers within a field. Biomedical sciences, physical sciences and other science, technology and social sciences topics are covered. Current articles contain links from bibliographies out to other papers.
- Annual Reviews Search Guide
The name says it all. This online guide steps the researcher through the search process on Annual Reviews.
JSTOR is a full text database that covers the full range of AHS topics as well as science topics. Content goes back to volume 1, issue 1 of resources included. The database does not have the most current 5 year of content.
- JSTOR Help
In addition to the online text content, users can follow links to video tutorials.
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. Use MeSH, or Medical Subject Headings, to define your search for best results.
- PubMed help
The PubMed help page contains tips, advanced search guides, FAQ's, and a variety of other material to help guide you through the database.
Infotrac is a collection of databases across popular and scholarly works. Academic OneFile, the Health Reference Center and the Psychology Collection may be useful for both non-scholarly and scholarly works.
- Infotrac search tips
Provides descriptions of search options and strategies.
- Google Scholar
Google scholar searches scholarly journals, conferences, theses and other scholarly content. The ability to see the number of citations at the browse level is a strength, as is the ability to see the citations once a link is followed. The advanced search allows for a broad range of facet searching, including geography.
- Google Scholar help
Advanced search features and tips.
Scirus is a scientific search engine that searches journal material, conferences, patents, white papers, scientist web sites, institutional repositories and other scientific sites. Scirus makes great use of faceted searching within results.
- Web of Science
Web of Science is a citation database. It's key purpose is to find material that cited a specific work and to see the citations used within a work or article. Sorting by number of citations will provide a glimpse of some of the key literature within a field. This is not a full text database.
- Web of Science help
Provides detailed on building a search, including the use of SAME, which finds terms within the same sentence.