Last Updated: Jul 27, 2016
The following sources are best for brainstorming, finding search terms, and focusing a search.
Infotrac contains a number of sub-databases and is partial full text. Material is both scholarly and general. Launching from Infotrac to a fully scholarly database is recommended.
- McGraw-Hill's AccessScience Encyclopedia
Good introductory articles as well as biographies, images, and some video.
- Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews is a database of gathered papers within a field. Biomedical sciences, physical sciences and other science, technology and social sciences topics are covered. Current articles contain links from bibliographies out to other papers.
- Annual Reviews Search Guide
The name says it all. This online guide steps the researcher through the search process on Annual Reviews.
JSTOR is a full text database that covers the full range of AHS topics as well as science topics. Content goes back to volume 1, issue 1 of resources included. The database does not have the most current 5 year of content.
- JSTOR Help
In addition to the online text content, users can follow links to video tutorials.
- Science Direct Database
Science Direct contains full text journals in the fields of science, technology, and medicine.
- Science Direct Tutorials
Learn to search, personalize, and interact with the Science Direct database.
WorldCat is a catalog of library catalogs. A large portion of the world's library catalogs are included in the collection. Within a search, libraries that own specific items are identified, with the closest libraries appearing first.
- WorldCat Help
The basics of searching the database are included in this overview.