Skip to main content

Cross-Disciplinary Research Methods - Fall 2018

Class Materials from 9.19.2018

A to Z Database List

For a complete list of library subscriptions, see the A to Z Database list.

A to Z Database List

Locating a known citation

When you are given a citation and need to locate the full text of an article you can use the following links to get started. There is no one way to do this, you should take the time to familiarize yourself with both open access and subscription resources in order to be a successful researcher.

Search directly for the Open Access version of articles:

Generate author bibliography

You can search for a list of publications by a single author in many of our databases. Some databases provide an index, or a thesaurus, for authors which can help catch different spellings of a name, or differentiate between two people with the same name. 

Here are a few example tutorials.

Google Scholar - search author profiles

Web of Science - search by author name instructional video

PubMed - search by author help

Identify & search relevant conference proceedings

To start this type of inqury, identify the leading professional organizations in your field. Your research advisor can help you do this, or, you can start with one of the professional organizations on this Wikipedia list

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_engineering_societies#United_States

Some databases make it easier than others to specifically locate conference information. Conferences are generally associated with an association and/or a publisher. Here are some links to get you started browsing conference proceedings from some prominent engineering publishers.

ACM Digital Library

https://dl.acm.org/proceedings.cfm

ASTM Digital Library

https://compass.astm.org/DIGITAL_LIBRARY/proceedings.html

IOP Science

http://conferenceseries.iop.org/

​Here is a video to help you browse journals and conferences in IEEExplore.

Identify relevant journals

There are subscription services like the Journal Citation Reports from Thomson Reuters and the H-index from Elsevier that are considered the current authority on journal influence and ranking but we don't currently subscribe to either service. Here are a few freely available ways to quickly identify influential or popular journals in a given field. 

You can also enter a simple topical search, like "Robotics," into a database like Web of Science or IEEE, or use the subject thesaurus to get started, then browse the journal titles that appear frequently in results to get ideas and familiarize yourself with the titles in your field.

Locating Books + eBooks

Books, eBooks + Other Resources

Search for and access thousands of eBooks across all of our subscriptions. In most cases, you can view and search eBooks from within your browser. If you would like to access any eBooks from EBSCO (the URL will say EBSCO), you will need to create an account download Adobe Digital Additions.

To locate physical books in the library, note the call number, and follow the signs on the end of all of our shelves to locate the book. 

Highlighted call number in the Library Catalog

Patents

Patents - Subscription Databases

Patents - Freely Accessible Databases

Here are some online patent databases to get you started. The world of patent searching and prosecution is challenging, complex and  SO interesting. If you are interested in learning more about patents, let me know and I will connect you with more information!