Getting Started
Getting Started
If you already have the citation for a journal article and you now need to look for a copy, start by searching the journal title in the Publication Search. You may also try the Citation Resolver, though always confirm results by searching the journal.
If we subscribe to that journal, you will see a list of ways to access the publication.
If the citation that you are looking for is a conference proceeding, use the Cross-Platform Search to see if we have access to that title.
If you can't find a copy of the article in question using library resources, you can look for an Open Access copy and/or submit an interlibrary loan request.
Some new and exciting tools are being developed to help you find Open Access content - such as the Open Access Button and Unpaywall.
Peer Reviewed Journal Articles + Conference Papers
Peer Reviewed Journal Articles + Conference Papers
Full Text Subscription Research Databases
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text peer-reviewed journals, transactions, magazines, conference proceedings, and published standards in the areas of electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. It also provides access to the IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
TIP: See their self-paced training and video tutorials: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplorehelp/ - ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery) This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books from the Association for Computing Machinery
- IOP ScienceExtra This link opens in a new windowIOP Science contains the full text of 70+ journals. Covered subjects include: biomedical engineering, condensed matter, graphene, materials, nanotechnology, quantum information and semiconductors in the fields of astronomy, astrophysics, biological physics, chemistry, engineering, environment, mathematics, physics, and medical physics.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index of thousands of journals, articles, and books, especially strong in topics related to the sciences, medicine, and technology.
NOTE: **Unlike other databases, you must submit a request for each article you want.**
We'll grant you access as soon as we receive your request. For info. on how to submit a request, see this Canvas page:
https://canvas.olin.edu/courses/349/pages/how-do-i-access-content-in-sciencedirect?module_item_id=7492
And you can always come see us or email library@olin.edu for help.
Full Text Open Access Research Databases
- arXiv.orgOpen access to 1,351,176 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics
Bibliographic Subscription Index Databases
- Web of Science: All Databases This link opens in a new windowIndexes of Web of Science databases in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Easily search multidisciplinary journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources.
NOTE: **Access in Chrome if you're having trouble using Firefox with this database.
TIP: You can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Bibliographic Freely Available Index Search Engines
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowCommunity-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Other Databases
See other databases available to you on the A to Z Database List.
You can also search across all subscriptions using the Cross Platform Search.
Patents
Patents - Subscription Databases
Patents - Freely Accessible Databases
Here are some online patent databases to get you started. The world of patent searching and prosecution is challenging, complex and SO interesting. If you are interested in learning more about patents, let me know and I will connect you with more information!
- EspacenetEspacenet is accessible to beginners and experts and is updated daily. It contains data on more than 100 million patent documents from around the world. Reliable metadata, straight from the source.
- Google PatentsSearch and read the full text of patents from around the world with Google Patents, and find prior art in our index of non-patent literature. Easy to search with inconsistent metadata.
- WIPO PatentScopeThe PATENTSCOPE database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices. Reliable metadata straight from the source.
Books + eBooks
Books, eBooks + Other Resources
Search for and access thousands of eBooks across all of our subscriptions. In most cases, you can view and search eBooks from within your browser. If you would like to access any eBooks from EBSCO (the URL will say EBSCO), you will need to create an account download Adobe Digital Additions.
To locate physical books in the library, note the call number, and follow the signs on the end of all of our shelves to locate the book.
- Olin Library CatalogContains Books and Overdrive Ebooks. Use the limiter on the side to see only Olin books.
- WorldcatSearch area libraries.
- OlinScholarThis search looks at all eBooks and journal articles across subscriptions
Standards
Engineering Standards available at Olin
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text peer-reviewed journals, transactions, magazines, conference proceedings, and published standards in the areas of electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. It also provides access to the IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
TIP: See their self-paced training and video tutorials: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplorehelp/
Other Standards
You may find that you are working in an area not covered by the IEEE or ASTM standards that we have access to at Olin. Some other issuing organizations to consider are listed below, but the important thing to remember is that you need to find out if there is a standard covering the specific area you are working in and professional associations are a good place to start your research.
- The Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE)
- Internet Standards, W3C
- American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
- American Petroleum Institute (API)
The library can also request some standards via interlibrary loan and make individual purchases of standards for research groups. The links below will help you identify standards available for purchase.