LibGuides: PGP: Industry Specific Resources

Sustainability

Sustainability Career Resources
List of Job Boards, Communities, Employers, and more. Includes:

MassCEC - Clean Energy Jobs Board
Greentown Labs – ClimateTech jobs; as a Megawatt partner, we have many contacts at Greentown Labs, located in Somerville MA and Houston, TX
ClimateTechList.com - Software jobs at high-growth climate companies
Climate&Hand Database - mechanical engineering and hardware jobs in climate tech
ClimateTech VC | Substack - leading newsletter on climate and innovation
Climatebase - jobs at ClimateTech companies and nonprofits around the world
Terra.do: Climate Jobs, Climate Education, and Climate Community - hosts online career fairs as well as job board
Innovate Climate - weekly newsletter to keep a pulse on climate startups
Women in Cleantech and Sustainability - network of professionals to further the roles of women in growing the green economy
Environmental Business Council of New England (ebcne.org) - job board, programs, and events in New England
Clean Energy Corps - you can upload your resume to a database instead of applying to a particular job

Impact and Public Interest Technology (PInT) Jobs

Job and Internship Opportunities in PIT for Oliners
A collection of PIT-related job boards, internship and job opportunities, and organizations; curated by Olin PInT!
TechChange's ImpactSource social impact job board
Curates jobs from top orgs in social impact and global development
Tech Jobs for Good
Helps organizations working on social and environmental issues hire tech talent looking for purposeful work.
Public Interest Tech Board
Work on things that matter.
All Tech is Human
Responsible tech online community and job board.
Nick Martin - CEO at TechChange
Nick Martin, CEO at TechChange, Professor at Columbia & Georgetown – posts job leads 5x a week on LinkedIn in the social/tech/ed/non-profit sectors
Net Impact's Careers in Social Impact Job Board
Net Impact’s mission is to inspire and equip emerging leaders to build a more just and sustainable world.
IdeaList
Idealist.org is a nonprofit clearinghouse. Its robust jobs board recently featured roughly 10,000 jobs as well as a database of nearly 80,000 nonprofits.
Second Day
Impact-centered job feed
US Digital Corps
Federal civic technology fellowship program.
Interact Fellowship
Fellowship community for mission-driven technologists.
Transitioning from the Private to the Public Sector
Considering a move from private industry to a public interest career? Be sure to check out this article.
The Ethical Algorithm (EBook)
Weaving together innovative research with stories of citizens, scientists, and activists on the front lines, The Ethical Algorithm offers a compelling vision for a future, one in which we can better protect humans from the unintended impacts of algorithms while continuing to inspire wondrous advances in technology.
Social Change by Design Database v2
A database of over 150 organizations from all over the world working on design applied to solving systemic social issues, such as families with food insecurity and helping patients navigate the US healthcare system.

Design and UX

HireCulture.org – cool culture-y jobs in MA; there is a western MA region (many jobs are non-profit-y though)
BuiltInBoston.com – many tech jobs, some are UX opportunities
CreativeHotlist – Part of the Communication Arts Network, this website provides assistance for finding job opportunities and building portfolios.
Coroflot – A site for individuals interested in the design industry. You can post your profile, et career advice, and browse firms that are hiring.
The Ad Club – Internships and scholarships for diverse college students interested in pursuing a career in marketing, advertising, media and communications. Job board with lots of design opportunities in MA! Also host of the Hatch Awards, a who’s who of the design world in Boston! The Hatch Awards will take place in Boston on oct. 24, you should go! Tickets are $300 per person, but you might ask about a student discount or volunteer discount.
AIGA (American institute of Graphic Arts) has a great job board; unfortunately, you have to be a member to see the whole job listing, but you can do a search by key word or experience level and see lots of abbreviated job descriptions. Then if you see a job of interest, go to that company’s website, their LinkedIn Jobs page, or Indeed.com to access the job listing without a paywall. Most jobs are graphic design, but some UX positions are posted.
IxDA Jobs – The Interaction Design Association’s jobs board includes opps across the whole spectrum of design: UX Designer positions, Front-End Development, Industrial Design, Art Direction, and more.
UX Jobs Board – emphasis on opps in UX design, but also in product design, product management, graphic design, and various engineering roles.
Dribbble – focus is on product, graphic, and UX design roles, and they are mainly with small to midsize employers.
Coroflot’s job board includes UX design jobs and product design jobs and industrial design jobs, and you can search by experience level, such as by “internship” or “junior” level.
Krop is a website portfolio builder and a creative job board. They “connect creatives with great companies”. Their focus is a mix of web design, graphic design, UX design, and product design.
WellFound has a global focus, with many their listing including the possibility of remote work. Need to create an account to see the design, UX and other jobs.
HigherEdJobs – college/university jobs (admin and faculty); many curriculum design and instructional technologist jobs.

Government Jobs

U.S. Department of State
America’s leading foreign affairs agency that works to shape and sustain a peaceful, prosperous, just, and democratic world and fosters conditions for stability and progress for the benefit of the American people and people everywhere.
The Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
Virtually any job you can imagine is available at the CIA — plus, some you can’t even imagine. We seek applicants across all academic backgrounds and experiences for a wide variety of full-time jobs and student internships.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
The USPTO promotes the progress of science and the useful arts by securing for limited time to inventors the exclusive right to their respective discoveries. Under this system of protection, American industry has flourished. New products have been invented, new uses for old ones discovered, and employment opportunities created for millions of Americans. The strength and vitality of the U.S. economy depends directly on effective mechanisms that protect new ideas and investments in innovation and creativity. The continued demand for patents and trademarks underscores the ingenuity of American inventors and entrepreneurs.
U.S. Navy Talent Acquisition Group New England
Will it be the land, sea or air? Want a career that's not limited by the mundane boundaries of ordinary work? Want to take on a leadership role right out of college? You have many choices as a Naval Officer. We offer positions in Aviation, Supply/Logistics, Information Warfare, Cyberwarfare Engineering, Surface Warfare, Civil Engineering, Medical Fields, and Nuclear Engineering to name a few. Benefits are unmatched including competitive pay, promotions, expansive benefits, and tax-free housing allowances and meals. Several of our programs pay students while they finish college on upwards of $6000 per month!
USAJOBS
Lists opportunities in science, engineering, technology, math, cybersecurity, sustainability, public health and social science jobs